Home of the
18 month/18,000 Mile
Warranty

Hours
Mon - Fri
8:00am - 5:30pm
*Free Towing Available on major repairs
   

Enterprise 
Rental Car next door
21909 Allen Rd.
Woodhaven, MI 48183
Ron@TotalTranz.com

734-362-6000


Proudly Serving Your Community: Downriver- Woodhaven, Brownstown, Flat Rock, Trenton, Wyandotte, Riverview, Rockwood, New Boston, Gibraltar, Monroe, Grosse Ile, Southgate, Lincoln Park, Allen Park, Taylor, Bellville, Romulus, Monroe, Wayne County

Testimonials/ Guest Book

   

Showing: 1-41 of 41
pete bean said:   August 20, 2017 2:05 pm PST
total transmission is a very well run small business. there service is great and the quality of work is above and beyond.. i have used them twice once for a total rebuild and the second for routine maintenance

M.Bodrie said:   July 13, 2017 2:13 pm PST
Thanks to all of you at Total Transmission. You did a great job and I am completely satisfied with the repairs that you made to my F-250. I would highly recommend you to all my friends and family. I wish I had known about your shop earlier. I first went to a competitor and was sorry I did. I was telling a friend about the lousy service I received at the competitors shop and He told me how, after going to the same competitors shop that they had damaged his car, and after that incident his friend directed him to Total Transmission and they were able to fix his car properly. That is why I went with Total Transmission for my drive-line repairs because they were so highly recommended!

T. Herring said:   July 9, 2016 5:26 am PST
Total Transmission did a great job on my 2009 Dodge Ram rear differential. Quick turnaround time at a vey reasonable price. I would highly recommend (and have to many already) TOTAL TRANSMISSION & GEAR.

Bruce Jacobs said:   June 30, 2016 7:10 am PST
On two occasions I have taken our vehicles to Total Transmission and have been very satisfied with their service. Bonnie, Ron, Ted and Rob are courteous and efficient. I highly recommend Total Transmission.

Keith C. Hampton, Sr. said:   June 27, 2016 4:34 am PST
I highly recommend taking your vehicle to Total Transmission if you want it done the right way. I have been bring my trucks to Bonnie for nearly four years and I will not take them anywhere else. I live in Redford township and it is worth the trip knowing that I am dealing with a honest business. Total Transmission took care of everything I needed on my 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. My jeep runs like it just came of the factory line thanks to Total Transmission. Keep up the great work. You guys are the best.

Jean and Don Wilson said:   January 13, 2016 1:03 pm PST
Monte Carlo is running great! Funny how you don't really know something was 'wrong' until it is right again! MY old car (2002) drives like I have rented a new rent a car! LOVING IT...this is the second repair you have done for us...two different cars! BOTH times? terrific service

Terry Karsten said:   December 14, 2015 4:35 am PST
Always honest, always quality work. I have taken both of my jeeps there and everything is always top notch. Thank you for being the best.

Ron Koshko said:   July 31, 2015 5:59 pm PST
I have had work done by Total Transmission & Gear about 2 years ago. My car is still running great, no problems no worries. My other car is have problems, the first place and only place I thought of was Total Transmission & Gear. Their friendly faces, honest and quality work, and fair price are the reasons I will take my car there. Thank You, to the entire team at Total Transmission & Gear.

Rahn L said:   July 27, 2014 12:04 pm PST
Everyone knows it is very difficult to find a good mechanic that does a good job at a fair price. Total Transmission & Gears did both!!!! Very professional, informative and the price was fair, to say the least. Ron repaired my mustang just in time for summer!!!! Highly recommended

Frank said:   July 15, 2014 9:13 pm PST
Just had trans lines replaced. Terrific experience. Great staff. Friendly and fast. Very reasonable prices. Kept us very updated on the progress of the work being done. I would recommend this place to anyone! Thanks for everything, including the thank you card.

D. Hill said:   July 10, 2014 9:47 am PST
I just had my 1999 E-350 van in to replace the Ring and Pinion set. It now runs better than when it was new. Great job at a reasonable price. Thanks for restoring my faith in a transmission shop. Very friendly and courteous service also. The thank you card after the job was a nice touch.

Dana said:   May 30, 2014 8:14 am PST
The staff at Total were great! When my Mountaineer needed a pinion bearing replaced i called every shop around. Not only was Totals price the best hands down, but the service was top notch also. Five stars plus!

Dave said:   May 23, 2014 10:22 am PST
A big thank you goes out to Total Transmission. Took my 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan in for a flush and fill and needed it within a few hours to go out of town. Total transmission did what needed to be done and everything was great!!!! Really appreciate the rush job and will return in the future.

Jerry Escutia said:   April 9, 2014 12:29 pm PST
This is a great place to go. I went and got my F-250 transmission done. They work in a reasonable amount of time and are very friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone. They are very knowledgeable people. Best service around!

Paul Savage said:   March 31, 2014 12:25 pm PST
Bonnie you rock! had a total rebuild.. price was fare. work was done right ! free loner was a god send.. Thank you to all who worked on my truck !

Luanne & David Ruta said:   March 3, 2014 6:13 am PST
Very professional, personal and friendly company with prompt and outstanding service!! Our first time in with a 2002 suburban and definitely will be back with all of our vehicles. Price very fair, service more than prompt and accomodating and explanation of problems with vehicle very thorough. Thanks so much Total Transmission for helping us out!!!

John Potter said:   February 11, 2014 10:03 am PST
We have had several vehicles worked on by the Total Team from transmissions to 4 x4 work. Have no problems what so ever. Rite from the front door when you are greeted rite through there shop kind and friendly service. Keep up the good work.

Jim Mueller said:   February 7, 2014 6:17 am PST
We have used Total Trans for both our cars. We feel that they are the best we have used for all car problems. They give you an estimate first, they are reasonable and fair. We highly recommend Total Trans to all our family & friends.

Jeff W said:   February 6, 2014 7:53 am PST
Brought my truck in with an Allison transmission, there is not a lot of people who will touch this, total tranz was very efficient and professional. I would recommend them to anyone.

Stover said:   January 24, 2014 9:43 am PST
Had worked done on three different vehicles, professional service done right.

Rich W said:   December 20, 2013 9:46 pm PST
This company was very quick to service my vehicle and was very knowledgeable. Above all, the work was exceptionally done and the company was very honest. I feel the price was adequate for what was done for me. The only problem I have is that I wish all businesses were like Total Trans.

MyRonno557 said:   December 5, 2013 7:18 am PST
Have had multiple vehicles over the last 15 years serviced and repaired here. Ron and Ted have gone above and beyond every time! Great shop, great people!

Scott Thompson said:   November 26, 2013 10:08 am PST
Great company to work with. Very honest. Bonnie is awsome.

Bruce Pease said:   October 18, 2013 6:39 am PST
Brought in my daughter's Jeep for some work. Cost was very reasonable and the work done quickly and well. Last year brought in another vehicle because Belle Tire recommended Total Transmission. Very happy with their work, pricing and employees. Will definitely come back and highly recommend them and their staff to anyone.

Robert Gorecki said:   October 17, 2013 6:08 am PST
Brought my dodge ram in for front axle work they had my truck fixed in 2 days an half the price the dealer wanted. I be back if I have future problems with my truck. Great job Bonnie an Mechanic's.

Mike said:   October 1, 2013 7:05 am PST
Several months agoI had my 2003 Lincoln Town car worked on for transmissions shift issues at Total Transmissions. Bonnie was extremely helpful keeping me informed on the progress of the work and was able to complete the work in the tight schedule that I had. I recommend Total Transmission & Gear to anyone having transmission issues. You can't go wrong with Bonnie and Ron.

Truman Douglas said:   September 9, 2013 3:58 pm PST
Had my trans rebuilt in my Chevy Astrovan last March. Still very happy with the results. Unfortunately, I have another vehicle with problems. I called Bonnie right away and even though they were very busy she fit me in and gave me a diagnosis within a couple hours. Definitely will use them this time also. Top notch people with the 18 mos. warranty, too!

Liz said:   August 30, 2013 9:56 am PST
I brought my car in thinking I would be spending a large amount of money to get it fixed. It was just a simple fix at a small cost. They are very honest with their work and prices. I would recommend this shop to anyone and will come here again for future work.

steve brunell said:   August 7, 2013 6:54 am PST
My daughters ford 500 had random issues. the crew at total would not do any repairs until they witnessed the problem themselves. With free diagnosis this amazed me. after four days of testing they found the problem fixed with rebuilt part. Problem came back, They went above and beyond to fix issue. Turns out it is a Ford problem but Bonnie and the crew at total are still working with us hand over foot. Thanks for all your hardwork

Harry Rankhorn said:   July 31, 2013 9:56 am PST
Fixed my vehicle while I waited even though I didn't have an appointment. They diagnosed problem when others couldn't and did a great job. Kind of puzzled by environmental fee of $5, however, for a TPS

Tim Chamberlin said:   July 26, 2013 11:38 am PST
I had a few transmissions rebuilt by Ron @ Total Transmission. Everyone had preformed like new. I have always been satisfied with his work .. Great people to work with. This is where I go for all my transmission needs and you should to...

jerry maurer said:   June 13, 2013 7:35 am PST
Had the trans rebuilt on my daughters 2006 Taurus a few months ago. The job was done on time and gave me a 18 mo. warranty, They also worked on the breaks with a cost I could not do the work myself. I would recommend them any time. Bonnie is a great person to deal with and took great care of us, and Don a trans Master. You will not be disappointed with your repair.

Christopher Johnson said:   March 26, 2013 1:22 pm PST
Fast, Courteous, service! Repairs were just as quoted, no hidden extras. I would recommend them, I'm very happy with the repairs.

Reno Farrugia said:   February 22, 2013 10:44 am PST
Had the trans rebuilt on my daughters 2004 Explorer a few months ago and the job was done over and above my expectations. The folks at Total Transmission even took the time to help me with an unrelated issue in the front axle and repaired it at a very reasonable price. I would recomend them any time. Even if you dicide not to have your work done there the experience in dealing with Bonnie is well worth the visit. She is a great person to deal with and was the reason why I decided to trust them with my repairs. You will not be disappointed with your repair.

sandy jones said:   January 23, 2013 3:04 pm PST
It was really strange; most companys say they are the best with their customer service.But I have to say that TOTAL TRANSMISSION & GEAR really are. They went beyond what was asked and had my van done in just a couple of days. They also explained everything they did. Thank you Ron and the rest of the staff for being there for me. I will be telling anyone who needs repairs done to give TOTAL TRANSMISSION & GEAR a call.

Jeff Dienst said:   January 22, 2013 10:28 am PST
You repaired the transmission on my 1993 Chrysler 5th Avenue. You gave me a 18 month warranty. That ended over 3 years ago! My transmission failed again but not in you area otherwise I'd have taken it there again. Your service was excellent and friendly. I am a very satisfied client. Thank You!

jerry bielawski said:   January 4, 2013 9:26 am PST
Great service, fast and friendly. My friend refered me.

Lisa Kinney said:   December 12, 2012 7:46 pm PST
You guys did a great job on my daughter's car. We were hoping that it wasn't the transmission but it was...You guys took really good care of us. We would recommend Total Transmission to everyone we know. Thank you so much!

james jackson said:   November 15, 2012 9:47 pm PST
I had been looking for a transmission shop about 2 yrs ago for my sisters transmission. We called all around but something lead us to total transmission. The people seemed friendly but as u know u go to shops and they tell you anything,but this guy at the shop gave a very good impression so we tried them. It's been over 2 years and the car is driving and shifting like new still to this day. Now my durango transfer case seems to have went out. Tripple aaa sent a tow truck to tow my truck and took it to one of their facilities. They checked it but i had a bad feeling about the shop so i removed my truck and decided to call around to different places not remembering where we had took my sisters car. I begin to call around i had talked to a lady i had never met. She seemed so nice and sincere about my transmission issues,so i told her i would get back with her. I called my sister and asked her for the number and i said small world it was the same shop as this sweet nice lady i had talk to, so i had it towed to total transmission to have the work done.

Jim Astalos said:   November 15, 2012 9:47 am PST
Thank you to the entire Total Transmission Team. You did a great job and I am completely satisfied with the repairs that you made to my Honda Accord. I would highly recommend you to all my friends and family.

M.R. said:   October 26, 2012 6:36 pm PST
I recently took my truck to Total Transmission thinking that I needed major transmission work. The lady that did the write up was very pleasant and expressed the honest reputation of the shop. She was so right. After a worker drove my truck, I received a call that the problem was not the transmission at all. It was suggested that I take the truck for a possible tune up. I did that, and my problem was fixed. Total Transmission did not even charge for any of its time plus they were honest and I did not pay $$$ for something not needed. Thank You!

Sign My Guest Book
Name:
 
 
 
Email:
 
 
 
Message:
 
 
 
 

I Just would like to say a BIG THANK YOU! I recently had a transmission done by you guys and would recommend to everyone that I know that is having problems with their car, truck or van to go to you first. You were the most honest, complete and professional car service around. I called around to two dozen transmission shops including the internet and they seemed to beat around the bush about the work, price, and warranty they had. On the other hand, when I came to you, there were no bones about it. you were very up-front about your cost and warranty from the beginning, and completed the work quickly to get my family back on the road. Job well done! Also, my brother-in-law came from N. Carolina a few weeks later and his transmission went out on his car. You did an emergency transmission change to get him back home safely! I just wanted to thank you from the bottom of my heart and my brother in law thanks you as well.

R. Mckelvey Woodhaven, MI.
S. Johnston Wilmington N.C Two thumbs up!
"I want to thank you for fixing my windstar minivan this week. I was afraid it was going to be a big problem being that my van is 9 years old. You were able to quickly diagnose and repair the problem. It turns out it was only the bolts that needed to be tightened on the shift lever. Thank you for keeping me and my family safe! I will refer your business to others!"

Margret Anderson-Thompson Grosse Ile, MI.
"I have dealt with this shop twice now and both times I received prompt , courteous, excellent workmanship at a very fair price. This company has earned my future business and respect. I sincerely recommend this company to everyone."

M.Mather Southgate, MI.
Posted by Johnny321 on 9/22/2008

September 22, 2008: Two weeks ago I found myself having a transmission problem due to normal wear on my Saturn car. I heard of the good work the people at Total Transmission do and they were highly recommended by a local mechanic to take a look at the problem for me. Well, I am pleased to write a good review because I feel that I was treated with professional courtesy, prompt service and a fair price. When your work car is down and out, you need honest people on your side that care! Would I return to Total Transmission for future work? Definately!! Thank you on a job well-done!

John J. of Trenton, MI.
Hello Total Transmission

"I need to thank you for your outstanding business ethics and knowledge in transmision repair. If you remember, I came to you with my 2001 VW - Passat back in February (2008) thinking I needed a transmission replacement. (VW Dealer cost $7,500). Your mechanical team inspected my car and determined I only needed one quart of transmission fluid!

From this I learned to know and realize Total Transmission's integrity and that your team meant much more than the quart of fluid. Prior to arriving at the notion of a transmission replacement, the VW Dealership replaced other engine parts and complicated the situation by adding more symptoms. See, I don't believe they were sure of the causes of my problem. When your mechanic told me he could replace my transmission for considerable less (~3000.00) than the VW Dealership, but my problem would still persist, I knew I was talking to someone with integrity.

As it turns out, your mechanic insisted that a correct engine tune up would solve my problem; it did!! I want to thank you and him for saving any other potentially ill-required repairs. I know that if there comes an occasion for transmission work, you are the right people and right shop for this service. Relationships like this are all about integrity and your team should be proud that customers recognize your superior ethics and value."

Kind Regards,
Ken Gonzolez
TWO THUMBS UP!!

I just would like to say a BIG THANK YOU! I recently had a transmission done by your guys and would recommend to everyone that is having problems with their car, truck or van to go to you first. You were the most honest, complete and professional car service around. I called around 2 dozen transmission shops including the Internet and they all seemed to just beat around the bush about the work, price and warranty they had. On the other hand, when I came to you, there were no bones about it. You were very up front about your cost and warranty from the beginning and completed the work quickly to get my family back on the road. Job well done! Also, my brother-in-law came in from N. Carolina a few weeks later and his transmission went out on his car. You did an emergency transmission change to get him back home safely! I just want to thank you from the bottom of my heart and my Brother-in-law thanks you as well!

R. McKelvey, Woodhaven
S. Johnson Wilmington, N.C.
Highly recommended!! Great work and service!! Top notch service! Mean what they say! Was made aware of everything being done. Very easy to work with and understanding of my needs. Whatever problem, big or small, I wouldn’t go anywhere else. The best in Southeast Michigan by far!!

They were fast and expedient and my car runs great! Very pleased.

I just had my 2005 Chevy Venture in there for a transmission rebuild. They were very polite, explained everything to me, took me for a shop tour and treated me very well. They are a cut above the rest. There prices were very reasonable and beat most of the other shops out there. If your worried like I was, go there and meet them, they will handle your business with care.

Best service of a vehicle I’ve ever had. My 2004 FX4 trans went out and Total Transmission & Gear diagnosed the problem, explained the issues inherent to my vehicle. They quoted me a price (not the cheapest) and they guaranteed their work and their price. When they test drove the truck, they noticed the rear end was shuddering (which it was, badly) and fixed that also. Four weeks after the fix, I had a chirp shifting into high from the passing gear and thought the trans fix was crap. I took it back and Ron test drove it and didn’t see any symptoms related to the trans and told me to replace the serpentine belt, which I did and now no chirp. Professional, friendly, and these folks know their sh**, period! By the way, they’re not the cheapest for a reason, they do quality work! I swear, my truck runs better than new!

I just wanted to say again how much I appreciated what you guys did for me today! The car is running smoother then I’ve ever know it to! LOL :-) Not only that, but the fact that you guys went above and beyond to fix those wires…I was really getting worried about how I was going to find a way to pay for another problem. I won’t forget your kindness. Thank You!

Laura Lowe
I want to thank you for fixing my Windstar minivan this week. I was afraid it was going to be a big problem being that my van was 9 years old. You were able to quickly diagnose and repair the problem. It turns out that it was only bolts needed to be tightened on the shift lever.

Thank you for keeping me and my family safe! I will refer your business to others!

M. Anderson
I was very pleased and happy with their work. I would recommend them to anyone.

Johnny Fields, Brownstown
Service was great! People were fantastic and very pleased with repairs. I would recommend them to anyone who needed work done. Thanks!

Mark Kuczynski
I want thank everyone at Total Transmission. They did an excellent job on my 2003 Chevy Van. I will do business again with them and highly recommend them to anyone with transmission problems! If I had to rate them between 1 and 10, they would get 2 10’s from me! Thanks again and Happy Holidays.

Dave Lappo, New Boston
I recently had the transmission of my 2002 ford Explorer rebuilt at Total Transmission and Gear. The vehicle is my daughter’s college transportation so I am concerned about reliability. I’m very pleased with the performance of the transmission. We have not experienced any leakage or shifting issues. The staff was very professional and friendly. I have recommended this shop to my family and friends. I would not hesitate to return in the future.

Sincerely,
Dan Polk
Dear Total Transmission Team,

Last September, I bought a car at auction for our 16 year old son to drive to school. We took it to a garage to have an oil leak repaired. When we picked it up, they told me that they noticed a transmission leak and they don’t do that kind of work. This was near the end of business hours on the Friday before Labor Day. Most service shops were closing for a day vacation. I said, “Sorry, Son, looks like you wont be driving yourself to your first day of school this year.” We decided to go to Total Transmission just to see if there was enough time left to find our how much the repair would cost. We were surprised by how affordable your price quote was. We were even more surprised that you offered to fix it right away while we waited. So, we left the car with you and walked across the street for an ice cream cone. We were so surprised when you called my cell phone so soon to let us know the job was done.

It is a rare thing these days to find a transmission shop that gives it’s customers pleasant surprises! Thank you Total Transmission!

Rich from Trenton
Website Builder